St. Louis’ ( French ) Catholic Church was organized as a separate parish in 1870, the French Catholics up to that time forming a part of the congregation of St. Mary’s. Mead’s Hall, at the corner of East Fourth and Bridge Streets, was purchased for $7,000 and a considerable sum was expended in fitting it up for church services. A convent was erected in connection with the church in charge of the Sisters of St. Ann, and for a number of years a school accommodating 300 pupils was maintained. The church experienced a remarkable growth during the pastorate of the late Rev. Joseph J. Auger, and the impress of the character of this noble priest, whose death occurred two years ago, was felt by the people of every denomination and leaves an enduring memory. The rector in charge at the present time is Rev. J. W. Chauvin.